TIEC Home About TIEC Governance

TIEC Board Provides Outstanding Leadership

Dr. Kenneth R. Evans, Chair
President, Lamar University

Dr. Kenneth R. Evans, Chair
Dr. Kenneth R. Evans was named the fifteenth president of Lamar University in 2013, after more than six years as dean and Fred E. Brown Chair at the Michael F. Price College of Business at the University of Oklahoma. Before OU, Dr. Evans served in administrative roles at the University of Missouri-Columbia, where he held the Pinkney C. Walker Professorship, and as a faculty member in marketing at Arizona State University. Dr. Evans received his doctorate from the University of Colorado, his MBA from California State University-Sacramento, and his undergraduate degree from the University of California-Davis. His research, published in prestigious marketing and business academic journals, has received national and international recognition. Dr. Evans is an award-winning teacher recognized for his design and implementation of interactive learning experiences and graduate education. Additionally, he has received acknowledgement for building program initiatives that provide study abroad opportunities. At all of his previous academic institutions, Dr. Evans led initiatives focused on faculty quality in research and teaching, design and implementation of new programming, and the recruitment and retention of high-quality students, all with key partnerships struck with the community, business, and other stakeholders. Dr. Evans has served on the TIEC Executive Committee since 2014.

Dr. F. Dominic Dottavio, Vice Chair
President, Tarleton State University

Dr. F. Dominic Dottavio, Vice Chair
Originally from Massillon, Ohio, Dr. Dottavio earned his bachelor's degree in Natural Resource Management from The Ohio State University, his master's degree in Environmental Studies from Yale University, and his doctorate from Purdue University's College of Agriculture. Dr. Dottavio was the Director of the Center for Natural Areas in Washington, D.C. and Director of the Clemson University Cooperative Study Unit for the U.S. Department of Interior. Dr. Dottavio also served as the Regional Chief Scientist for the National Park Service, where he led research programs in coastal zone management, ecosystem restoration and conservation biology. Dr. Dottavio returned to higher education to serve as the Chief Executive Officer of The Ohio State University at Marion and as a Professor in Ohio State's College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. Dr. Dottavio then was selected as the thirteenth President of Heidelberg University in Tiffin, Ohio, where he served for five years before being named Tarleton's fifteenth President in 2008. Dr. Dottavio has served on National Academy of Sciences Committees on the restoration of the Everglades and has received a number of recognitions, including The Ohio State University Alumni Association Citizenship Award and Distinguished Agricultural Alumni Award from Purdue University. He has served on the TIEC Executive Committee since 2015.

Dr. Fernando C. Gomez
Vice Chancellor and General Counsel, Texas State University System

Dr. Fernando C. Gomez, Secretary of the Board
Dr. Fernando C. Gomez for more than 20 years has been General Counsel for the Texas State University System, the oldest multi-campus system in Texas serving more than 82,000 students each year through its eight component institutions. He received his B.A. in sociology and English from the University of New Mexico and his J.D. (law) and Ph.D. in American culture from the University of Michigan. In addition to his legal practice, he teaches for the Sam Houston State University-International Law Enforcement Academy, a U.S. State Department-funded program in Roswell, New Mexico. He has been Legal Counsel for TIEC since 1987.

For more information on TIEC services for Texas universities, e-mail us at info@tiec.org


Equal Opportunity Employer Minorities/Women/Veterans/Disabled

Copyright © 2018 by the Texas International Education Consortium (TIEC)


University Services | Consulting | Training | Career Opportunities
About TIEC | Privacy Policy | Contact

The TIEC Board:
Presidents of Texas Public Universities

TIEC Board of Directors

Lamar University
President Kenneth R. Evans

Tarleton State University
President F. Dominic Dottavio
Vice Chair

Angelo State University
President Brian J. May

Midwestern State University
President Suzanne Shipley

Prairie View A&M University
President Ruth J. Simmons

Sam Houston State University
President Dana G. Hoyt

Stephen F. Austin State University
President Baker Pattillo

Sul Ross State University
President William L. Kibler

Texas A&M International University
President Pablo Arenaz

Texas A&M University
President Michael K. Young

Texas A&M University - Commerce
President Ray M. Keck, III

Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
President Kelly Quintanilla

Texas A&M University - Kingsville
President Steven H. Tallant

Texas A&M University - San Antonio
President Cynthia Teniente-Matson

Texas A&M University - Texarkana
President Emily Cutrer

Texas Southern University
President Austin A. Lane

Texas State University
President Denise M. Trauth

Texas Tech University
President Lawrence Schovanec

Texas Woman's University
Chancellor Carine M. Feyten

The University of Texas at Arlington
President Vistasp M. Karbhari

The University of Texas at Dallas
President Richard C. Benson

The University of Texas at El Paso
President Diana S. Natalicio

The University of Texas at San Antonio
President Thomas Taylor Eighmy

The University of Texas of the Permian Basin
President Sandra K. Woodley

The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
President Guy Bailey

The University of Texas at Tyler
President Michael V. Tidwell

University of Houston-Clear Lake
President Ira K. Blake

University of Houston - Downtown
President Juan Sánchez Muñoz

University of Houston - Victoria
President Raymond Victor Morgan Jr.

University of North Texas
President Neal Smatresk

West Texas A&M University
President Walter V. Wendler

Secretary of the Board
Fernando C. Gomez

TIEC Corporate Officers

Fernando C. Gomez